Meditation Confession…

In attempting to Walk the Talk a bit more as a health coach and yoga instructor, I signed up for the Oprah & Deepak 21-Day Meditation Challenge.

I have got to be totally honest with you: these things always seemed super corny and contrived to me. Why would I sign up for something like that when I’ve already got all the tools I need? I know damn well how to set myself up for meditation.

Well, I realized that I needed a little help. A little kick in the butt if you will. The 21-Day Challenge has been just the kick I needed. While I have missed 2 days thus far (I make them up by doing 2 a days) I can honestly say that this is a commitment I needed to make. Strange as it may sound, it has been more difficult to build a regular meditation practice than it was to train for Ironman. Maybe it’s because meditation encourages you to be silent, still, and totally unplug from your computer, phone, music, TV for a mere 20 minutes. And sometimes, the bad stuff comes up.

But it is always, ALWAYS worth it. As I said, I’m only about 10 days into this daily meditation thing but I have to say that when I wrap up I feel more focused and ready to take on my day.

If you are interested in building a daily meditation or yoga practice, post your comments below or contact me directly. I am more than happy to help you find an online program and share more information with you on a very exciting project my friend Sophie and I are launching in time for the new year!

Meditation is the only time when bossy-pants Milo will ever calm down enough to sit in my lap which is an added perk.

Meditation is the only time when bossy-pants Milo will ever calm down enough to sit in my lap which is an added perk.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

